NDLEA Arrests 2 Men With Drugs Worth N59m In Whiskey Bottle And Wooden Frame

It was a bad day in the office for two Nigerian men, Michael Okwuma and Chidiebere Nwajagu, as they were busted by operatives of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA), attached to the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA), Lagos, as they were about to disembark from a flight from Brazil, with 6.6 kilogrammes of cocaine worth a whopping N59 million, reports Punch.

It was learnt that Okwuma hid his drugs inside wooden frames, while Nwajagu was said to have concealed his in Whisky bottles.

The duo were arrested during an inward screening of passengers on board a South African Airways and an Emirates flight.

31-year-old Okwuma, confessed that he was introduced to the crime by a Nigerian in Brazil and was paid $3,000 (N600, 000), to smuggle it out of the country. He told the NDLEA operatives that he had wanted to use the money to augment his meagre salary.

“I live in Sao Paulo with my wife and child. I work in a supermarket but my salary is not sufficient to take care of my family. The man that gave me the drugs is like a father to me.

He usually renders me financial assistance. He was the one that bought my ticket and gave me the $3,000. I was very happy for the gesture.

He also gave me a bag containing children’s clothes and wooden frames to take to Nigeria. When I got to Lagos, NDLEA officers opened the bag and found the cocaine.”

On his part, Nwajagu, a 30-year-old man, said he decided to engage in the illicit business to raise funds for his business, adding that he was introduced to drug trafficking by a friend in Lagos.

“I was in my village in Anambra doing menial jobs to sustain myself. I came to Lagos on a short visit when I met an old friend. He was very nice to me as he used to give me money, buy me drinks and food.

He told me to travel to Brazil and help him bring a bag back to Nigeria. He said he would give me enough money to help me start a business.

That was how I travelled out of Nigeria. On arrival, the bag was searched and the cocaine was found inside packs of Irish whiskey. I never knew I would end up this way.”

gmdownload (3)

Leave a Reply

